Log in

Gov. Deal appoints Douglas resident to Soil and Water Commission

Tello Massive Price Drop
New Plan Entry - Unlimited Talk, Text & 4GB Data at $39/mo. Get It Today!

Sponsored by ChanceyBanner Aug17

Garland Thompson Photo courtesy of the University of Georgia Garland Thompson

Garland Thompson of Douglas is one of five Georgians Gov. Nathan Deal named to the Soil and Water Conservation Committee on Wednesday.

Thompson retired as senior vice president for the SunTrust Bank of Coffee County and presently serves as chairman of the board. He has served on the Georgia Agribusiness Council, the University of Georgia Agriculture Alumni Board, the Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia, the Sunbelt Exposition Board and the Douglas-Coffee County Industrial Authority. He earned an associate’s degree from Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, a bachelor’s degree in agriculture from the University of Georgia and attended banking school at Louisiana State University. He has four children and five grandchildren.

Garland has served in this capacity under six governors. The others appointed to the Commission are Jason Winters, J. Drew Echols, Harold D. Fallin, and Bob Martin.

Login to post comments
Travel News

david tire   tanner

ED19 Click    DG19 Click    2019AGClick    GRAD2019Click    BRIDE2019Click