Log in

Local 4-H news from Kevin Tatum

regency care

4-H members visit residents of Manor House for 4-H Pet Therapy, Nov. 15, 2016. Contributed photo 4-H members visit residents of Manor House for 4-H Pet Therapy, Nov. 15, 2016.

Ear, Nose & Throat Clinic douglas, waycross and tiftonYour Local Sinus Experts are now located in three convenient locations: 
Tifton, Douglas and Waycross!

Give us a call today at 912-384-2200 or visit our website atwww.entclinicmd.com


Coffee County was well represented at the Cloverleaf District Project Achievement contest on November 12 in Lyons.  Students from seven of the eleven schools in Coffee County had either 5th or 6th graders compete in the contest. There was one fourth grader, 43 fifth graders and 25 sixth graders who competed this year.

Participants (including their project and placing) were: Ambrose: Haley Kimbrough, Flowers, Shrubs, & Lawns, 1st; Jamie Polk, Wildlife; Jennalee Polk, Clothing & Textiles; Carlee Woods, Clothing & Textiles, 3rd. Broxton: Glenn O'Steen, Science of Engineering & Mechanics, 1st; and Lynnzy Wooten, Performing Arts-Vocal, 3rd. CCA: London O'Steen, Public Speaking, 2nd. CMS: Joseph Aldridge, Target Sports, 2nd; Jayla Bennett, Interior Design, 1st; Casey Dickie, Outdoor Survival Skills, 3rd; Cali Hobbs, Performing Arts-Vocal, 1st; Kensely James, Sports, 3rd; Kaniyah Lawson, Performing Arts-Vocal; Carrie LeVan, Workforce Preparation & Career Development, 1st; Bre'nisha Lumpkin, Food Safety & Preservation, 1st; Ty'shana Miller, Outdoor Recreation, 1st; Lauren Moore, Science of Engineering & Mechanics, 2nd; Anastasia Pearson, Arts, 2nd; Kristy Rolle, Food Fare, 1st; Jenna Sears, Science of Engineering & Mechanics, 1st; Qua Strouse, Workforce Preparation & Career Development; Nevin Swanson, Time & Money Management, 1st; Gabbriella Touchstone, Crafts, 3rd; Aquemini Trotter, Clothing & Textiles, 1st; Justin von Waldner, Performing Arts-Instrumental; Janilla Warren, Between Meal Snacks, 1st; Christopher Williams, Sports, 2nd; Jada Williams, History; Raven Williams, Safety, 2nd; Christian Wilson, Marine & Coastal Ecology, 3rd; and Kalyn Woods, General Recreation, 1st. Eastside: Avionna Carson, Workforce Preparation & Career Development, 2nd; Javonte Davis, Safety, 2nd; Glenda Grantham, Target Sports, 1st; Brooklyn Kirkland, General Recreation; Natalie Newell, Sports, 2nd; and Dhroom Patel, Environmental Science, 1st. First Academy: Kaitlyn Tanner, Performing Arts-Instrumental, 1st. Indian Creek: Camyra Clemmons, Wildlife; Majesty Clemmons, Wildlife, 3rd; Jake Grantham, Performing Arts-Instrumental, 2nd; and Abygail Harper, Environmental Science, 3rd. Satilla: Angelina Alvarado, Public Speaking; Jaderia Ates, Creative Stitchery, 1st; Sophie Bird, Poultry & Egg Science, 1st; Keila Castillo, Photography, 2nd; Shaniyah Clemons, Food Fare, 1st; Kilee Davis, Horse; Kylie-Shaye Dean, Performing Arts-General; Zykeria Dunnom, General Recreation; Fairuza Hagains, Cat Care; Jaci Jones, Arts, 1st; Madison Jones, Dog Care & Training; Nyauna Lampkin, History; Kirsten Lawson, Dog Care & Training; Jadyn Nugent, Horse; Haidy Ortiz, Performing Arts-Vocal; Iris Sanchez, Outdoor Recreation, 2nd; Ty'Nia Sutton, History, 3rd; Elissa Vaquerano, International, 3rd; Equemini Vickers, Environmental Science, 2nd; Derica Warren, General Recreation; Jamesha Warren, Between Meal Snacks, 1st; and Shaniya Wilson, Dog Care & Training; Westside: Luke Barrett, Horse; Carlie Gillis, Marine & Coastal Ecology, 2nd; Caroline Maley, Cat Care; Ashley Swails, Crafts, 2nd; and Logan Thomas, Outdoor Recreation, 1st.

Coffee County 4-H was presented a first place county program award at the contest for the most participants and the second place award for the highest increase in participation over last year's contest participation. In addition, Javonte Davis' name was drawn as a winner of a $75 camp scholarship.

The 4-H staff would like to thank these students for all their hard work. We would also like to thank the teen and volunteer leaders for their assistance with project preparation as well as at the contest. Your assistance was greatly appreciated.


We want to thank all of the 4-H members, parents, and volunteers who went on Tuesday, November 15, to Manor House for Pet Therapy Visitation. Participants included: Eastside: Javonte Davis. Senior 4‑H Club:  Savannah Cothern, Asia Davis, Jameisha Doe, Bethany Land, Ta'Kyla Robinson, Micheal Woods, Evie Woodward, and Kimberly Wright. Adults: Alyse Hall, Steve Hall, and Patty Wright.

Our next visitation will be on Monday, December 5, at Shady Acres from 4 to 4:30 p.m. Please remember pets must be current on vaccinations and must be friendly. Group photo will be taken at 4:30 p.m.


Congratulations to the following students on their performance at the Georgia National Fair Livestock Shows: Ambrose: Kramer Day-5th in cattle show class; Dillon Smith-7th place swine showmanship (3rd/4th grade class). Home School: Taylor Medders-2nd in cattle show class.

We also want to congratulate the State Goat Show participants for their achievements as well. They were: Broxton: Avelyn Dockery-8th & 9th in class, Leo McIver-9th in class. CMS: Alexandra Rivero– 3rd in class & 10th in showmanship. GWCFC: Adrianna Rivero-5th, 8th, & 8th in class & 8th in showmanship; Home School: Austin Fuller-2nd, 3rd, & 6th in class, and 3rd in showmanship; Madeline Pearce-9th in class and 9th in showmanship; Jonathan Sayer– 2nd, 4th, and 6th in class; Joshua Sayer-4th, 8th, and 8th in class; Jamilee Vickers-10th in class; Kendra Vickers-9th in class; and Sara Vickers-HM. Indian Creek: Eli Stodghill-1st and 1st in class and 8th in showmanship.  Ocilla: Cole Carver-3rd, 5th, 6th, & 4th in showmanship.

If you would like to learn how you can become more involved with the Coffee County 4-H program, please contact the Coffee County Extension office at (912) 384-1402 or visit our website at http://coffee4h.org.

Javonte Davis Camp Scholarship Recipient 516x640

Javonte Davis, Eastside Elementary 4-H member, was a winner of a $75 camp scholarship drawing at Cloverleaf DPA. Congratulations Javonte.

DPA Award Highest Participation 640x336

Coffee County Extension staff and Evie Woodward, SE District 4-H Board of Directors Vice-president, receive the first place award for highest participation in Cloverleaf DPA with 69 participants.

DPA Award 2nd Highest Improvement 640x353

Coffee County 4-H Staff and Evie Woodward, SE District Senior Board Vice-President, receive the second place award for most improvement in DPA participation.

Cloverleaf DPA Participants 640x191 2

Coffee County 4-H Club's Cloverleaf DPA delegation including competitors and teen leaders.

- Submitted by Kevin Tatum, Coffee County Extension Coordinator

Login to post comments
Travel News