Log in

4-H DPA report, upcoming livestock shows

Tello Massive Price Drop
New Plan Entry - Unlimited Talk, Text & 4GB Data at $39/mo. Get It Today!

Sponsored by ChanceyBanner Aug17

Senior 4-H members at Rock Eagle Submitted photo Senior 4-H members at Rock Eagle

By: Kevin Tatum, County Extension Coordinator


Coffee County junior and senior 4-H members traveled to Rock Eagle 4-H Center the weekend of February 1-3 and competed in District Project Achievement. Forty-three students completed portfolios. This portfolio accounts for 40-50 percent of their total DPA score. They also had to present a 10-12 minute presentation on their project which accounted for the balance of their score. Forty-one competed in the presentation contest.



Junior 4-H members, their projects, and placings were: Jaderia Ates, Performing Arts - Other Instrumental; Sophie Bird, Performing Arts - Dance; Camyra Clemmons, Marine Science, 3rd; Nathan Cooper, Dairy Foods, 2nd; Kilee Davis, Better Breakfast, 2nd; Zykeria Dunnom, Festive Foods for Health, 2nd; Ashlynn Fletcher, Better Breakfast; Kaylee Gentry, Performing Arts - Dance; Vernon Guyton, Sports - Team; Abygail Harper, General Recreation; Kaniyah Lawson, General Recreation; Kirsten Lawson, Wildlife, 2nd; Glenn O'Steen, Engineering & Mechanics, 2nd; Jenna Sears, Crafts, 1st; Tynia Sutton, Computer Information Technology, 1st; Ashley Swails, Festive Foods for Health, 3rd; Equemini Vickers, Arts, 2nd; Jamesha Warren, Workforce Preparation & Career Development, 3rd; Janilla Warren, Dairy Foods, 3rd; Christopher Williams, General Recreation, 3rd; Christian Wilson, Food Fare, 1st; and Carlee Woods, Marine Science, 2nd.



Senior 4-H members were: Ashton Ates, Festive Foods for Health; Jeremiah Brantley, Workforce Preparation & Career Development; Savannah Cothern, Dairy Foods, 1st; Jackson Cowart, Computer Information Technology, 1st; Amelia Crockett, Public Speaking; Asia Davis, Food Fare; Terryanna Harris, Photography; Dawson Miller, History; Muskan Minhas, International, 1st; Candice Pace, Public Speaking; Adrianna Rivero, Veterinary Science, 2nd; Alexandra Rivero, Festive Foods for Health; TaKyla Robinson, Safety; Ishika Sadarangani, Dairy Foods; Justin Strickland, Computer Information Technology, 2nd; Nydia Swanson, Food for Fitness, 2nd; Sariah Wells, Performing Arts - Dance; Evie Woodward, Performing Arts - Vocal, 2nd; and Kimberly Wright, Dog Care & Training.



First place winners Savannah Cothern, Jackson Cowart, and Muskan Minhas, along with sweepstakes winner Evie Woodward will advance to State 4‑H Congress in Atlanta on July 22–26.



In addition to project competition, the following students campaigned for leadership roles as District 4-H Board of Directors members: Jeremiah Brantley for the Senior Board and Kilee Davis, Kaylee Gentry, and Carlee Woods for the Junior Board. Jeremiah Brantley was elected to serve on the 2019-2020 Senior District Board.  Congratulations Jeremiah!


Graduating seniors Savannah Cothern, Jackson Cowart, Asia Davis, TaKyla Robinson, Nydia Swanson, and Evie Woodward were recognized at the Graduating Senior Banquet on Saturday evening. In addition, Asia Davis was recognized with a special pin for participating in DPA all eight years of her 4-H career.


Upcoming Livestock Shows


We want to wish our 4‑H members the best of luck as they travel to Perry to compete in the Georgia Junior National Livestock Shows the week of February 20-24. This event will host the State 4‑H/FFA Market Hog, Breeding Doe, Breeding Ewe, Steer, Heifer, and Dairy Heifer Shows. Market Hog Show participants registered from Coffee County include: Ambrose: Ava Morgan; Broxton: Preston Hutto; Career Academy: Seth Ables and Felton Harper; CCA: Sam Ables; CMS: Jake Grantham; First Academy: Elijah Carver; Home School: Jamilee Vickers and Sara Vickers; Indian Creek: Olivia LaRiccia. In the State Heifer Show, our participant is: Home School: Taylor Medders.  Coffee County 4‑H has two participants in the Breeding Doe Show: Home School: Jonathan Sayer; and Irwin High: Cole Carver.


We would also like to invite everyone out to the Billy Walker Livestock Arena at CMS on Monday, February 18, for the County Market Hog Show. The show is scheduled to begin at 11 AM. County 4-H show participants include: Ambrose: Ava Morgan; Broxton: Preston Hutto; Career Academy: Seth Ables and Felton Harper; CCA: Sam Ables; First Academy: Elijah Carver; Home School: Jamilee Vickers and Sara Vickers; Indian Creek: Olivia LaRiccia.



The Coffee County Cattle Battle will also be held at the Billy Walker Livestock Arena on Thursday, February 28. Show time is schedule for 6 PM. Taylor Medders will be representing 4-H in this show.



We want to wish all of our participants the best of luck at both county and state shows.


If you would like to learn how you can become more involved with the Coffee County 4-H program, please contact the Coffee County Extension office at (912) 384-1402 or visit our website at http://coffee4h.org.

Login to post comments
Travel News

david tire   tanner

ED19 Click    DG19 Click    2019AGClick    GRAD2019Click    BRIDE2019Click     MED19Click