Log in

Darci Tuten recognized as systemwide teacher of the year

Sponsored by ChanceyBanner Aug17

Darci Tuten recognized as systemwide teacher of the year

Friday night, during the halftime festivities at the Coffee High football game, Darci Tuten, Coffee County Schools 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year, was formally recognized on the football field in front of the Trojan fans.  Escorted by her principal Dr. Rowland Cummings and Superintendent, Dr. Morris Leis, Mrs. Tuten has been a part of the school district since August of 2006, having previously taught for four years at Citizens Christian Academy.  Darci currently teaches American and Multi-Cultural Literature as well as Advanced Placement Literature.

Not only does Mrs. Tuten have the distinction as the new system-wide Teacher of the Year for 2019-2020 but she is the 45th Teacher selected as the district celebrates the 45th Anniversary of the Teacher of the Year Program.

As the system-wide Teacher of the Year, Darci will received numerous gifts from gift cards to restaurants, gift shops, clothing stores, car washes, spa and nail treatments as well as monetary gifts from local banks.  

Darci was selected from an elite group of educators representing every school within the district. Selected by their colleagues last spring, it is certainly one of the highest honors you can receive.  All of the following nominees are to be commended for their excellence in the classroom and their dedication to their students: Morgan Morris, Satilla Elementary; Amie Bennett, Eastside Elementary; Melanie Brunel, Broxton Mary-Hayes Elementary; Shae Hare, Indian Creek Elementary; Angel Anderson, Nicholls Elementary;  Deborah Patton, Wiregrass Regional College and Career Academy; Heather Cook, Westside Elementary; Britany Winters, West Green Elementary; Chandra Green, Coffee Middle School; Eric Nwawel, George Washington Carver Freshman Campus and Marnie Smith, Ambrose Elementary.

Last modified onWednesday, 04 September 2019 18:23
Login to post comments

david tire   tanner

                                 ED20 Click