Log in

4-H recognizes outstanding 4-H members, volunteers at annual awards ceremony

Cloverleaf District Project Achievement Award Recipients. Submitted photo Cloverleaf District Project Achievement Award Recipients.

By Kevin Tatum


Over 200 people gathered at the First Baptist Church in Douglas on Monday, May 7, to recognize active Coffee County 4-H members and volunteers during the Annual 4-H Honors Night Program. 4‑H members were presented awards for their participation in District Project Achievement (DPA), Poultry Judging, livestock shows, target sports, and community service projects.

Recipients of the Outstanding 4-H Member of the Year awards were also announced. Recipients of this coveted award included: Cloverleaf – Natalie Newell and Glenn O'Steen; Junior – Ashton Ates, Ishika Sadarangani, and Sariah Wells; and Senior –TaKyla Robinson, Micheal Woods, and Evie Woodward.

Junior Board members Amelia Crockett, Vice-president Alexandra Rivero, and Vice-president Ishika Sadarangani, as well as Senior Board members Willie Spence and Vice-president T.K. McIver, were recognized for their leadership role on the Southeast District 4-H Board of Directors during the 2017-2018 school year. State 4-H Board Representative Evie Woodward was also recognized for serving the 2017-2018 term. Bethany Land and Jackson Cowart were recognized for their leadership in serving on the Georgia 4-H Technology Leadership Team as well.

Awards were presented to 108 students for participating in District Project Achievement this year including 75 Cloverleaf 4-H'ers, 16 Junior 4-H'ers, and 17 Senior 4-H'ers. Thirteen students were recognized for participating in the Area Poultry Judging Contest, with one also competing in the state contest. Livestock awards were presented to 46 students which included 21 horse awards, 13 market hog awards, 1 cattle award, and 11 goat awards. In Target Sports, 31 awards were presented to students which included 9 BB team, 1 22 rifle team, 6 air rifle team, 3 archery team, and 12 shotgun team awards. One 4-H member, Cameron Kirkland, was recognized for winning the Master 4-H Showman Award for Market Hogs at the State 4-H Market Hog Show. Willie Spence was recognized for his involvement in Georgia 4-H Clovers & Co. for the past six years. Cody Davis was recognized for winning the Sportsmanship Award for two years in a row at the State 4-H Horse Show. New and experienced Certified Teen Leaders, as well as ten graduating 4-H members, were also recognized. 4-H Advisory Committee members were recognized for the role they serve in 4-H program planning. Mrs. Erin Aycock and Mrs. Katrina Burch were recognized for serving as club sponsors at the Freshman Campus and Coffee High School, and Mrs. Chalanda Woods was recognized for serving as the 4-H photographer and capturing so many 4-H activities for the annual slide show.

In community service, 45 students were presented participation awards for helping with the 4-H Adopt-A-Highway workdays, 64 students were presented participation awards for helping with the 4-H Pet Therapy visitations at Vista Park (Shady Acres) and Manor House, and 13 students were presented participation awards for helping with the Salvation Army Red Kettle Drive.

Other special awards earned during the year were: Ishika Sadarangani received recognition for her Leadership in Action project entitled "Clean Teeth for Life", Evie Woodward received a

$500 grant for her Leadership in Action project entitled "Baggin' Hunger", Abby Hamilton won first place in the state in the Pantry Pride contest, T.K. McIver was recognized as the Senior High Scoring Individual in the Area Poultry Judging Contest, and the Coffee County 4-H program won awards during the year for most Cloverleaf DPA participants, second most Junior/Senior DPA participants, third highest increase in Cloverleaf DPA participation, and fifth highest overall participation in the state of Georgia.

Many parents and volunteers were recognized for their contributions to help make the 4‑H program a success in Coffee County. Their contributions are greatly appreciated by the 4-H staff.

The Coffee County 4-H staff would also like to thank Douglas First Baptist Church for allowing us to hold our awards event at their church as well as thanks for the staff that assisted with setting up and cleaning up afterward.



Saturday, May 12th, 4-H Target Sports Team members, as well as Junior and Senior 4-H members, assisted the National Wild Turkey Federation and General Coffee State Park host Jake's Day at General Coffee State Park. The event was scheduled from 10 AM to 2 PM and included an archery and a BB range.

4-H members who assisted included J.J. Aldridge, Ashton Ates, Sarah Davis, Caelan Merritt, Adrianna Rivero, Huey Underhill, Sariah Wells, and Jessica Whitley along with Mrs. Chalanda Woods, AmeriCorps Member.

If you have questions about the Coffee County 4-H Club program or questions about the farm or home, please feel free to contact the Coffee County Extension office at (912) 384-1402. Remember, we are YOUR local connection to the University of Georgia.

rsz befunky collage

(L-R):  1st row: Junior District Project Achievement Award Recipients; 4-H Archery Competition Award Recipients.


2nd row: Senior District Project Achievement Award Recipients; 4-H Air Rifle and 22 Rifle Award Recipients.


3rd row: Senior DPA participants who are advancing to State 4-H Congress in July. (L to R) Evie Woodward, Savannah Cothern, Kyya Johnson, Abby Hamilton, Micheal Woods, and T.K. McIver; 4-H BB Team Award Recipients.

rsz befunky1 collage

(L-R): 1st row: Special NRA BB Team Award Recipients for National Postal Match; Shotgun coaches with Shotgun Team member Avery Vincent.

2nd row: 4-H Horse Club leader Sandra Sears with State Horse Show Award recipients; State Goat Show award recipients Adrianna Rivero and Alexandra Rivero.

3rd row: Market Hog Show Award Recipients Anna Grace Grantham, Jake Grantham, and Sara Vickers; Willie Spence recognized for six years participation in Georgia 4-H Clovers & Co.

rsz befunky2 collage

(L-R): 1st row: 4-H Poultry Judging Award Recipients; District & State 4-H Officer Recognition: Willie Spence, District Senior Board, Amelia Crockett, District Junior Board, VP Ishika Sadarangan, District Junior Board, VP Alexandra Rivero, District Junior Board, VP T.K. McIver, District Senior Board, and Evie Woodward, State Board Representative.


2nd row: Coffee County Outstanding 4-H Member of the Year Award Recipients: (l to r) Program Assistant Alyse Hall, AmeriCorps Member Chalanda Woods, Glenn O’Steen, Natalie Newell, Ashton Ates, Ishika Sadarangani, Sariah Wells, Evie Woodward, Micheal Woods, Program Assistant Liz Batten, and 4-H Agent Kevin Tatum; 4-H Pet Therapy Visitation Award Recipients.

3rd row: 4-H Adopt-A-Highway Workday Award Recipients; Recognition of this year’s graduation seniors.

Login to post comments
Travel News